Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Love Languages? What are they?

February 8, 2023

What are love languages?


Well, I'm glad you asked; first of all, it should be noted that different people with different personalities give and receive love differently. By recognizing these preferences in yourself and your loved ones, you can learn to identify the root of your conflicts, connect more profoundly, and truly begin to grow closer. There are five distinct recognized love languages: words of affirmation, quality time, acts of service, physical touch and gift giving/ receiving gifts! 

Knowing your love languages can help you understand and identify your preferred method of receiving love. For instance, if your partner shows love through physical contact while you express it through words of affirmation, but they are oblivious to this fact, they may generate a rift or disagreement in your relationship. They may be unaware that you like to be told how you feel, look well, and other things. This might be the reason for the problem. At the same time, they may believe that physically touching you expresses their love for you in the best possible way. To love someone well is to love them how they want to be loved rather than how you would like to be loved. If you are concerned that they do not know the answer, you may point them to this page, research the internet, and note their response. After hearing their response, you may test the influence on the relationship by attempting to exhibit love in little ways that correspond to their preferred love language. When you offer love to your partner in the manner that they want to be loved, I am confident that they will reciprocate that love, and the two of you will feel closer to one another and more connected to one another.

I will begin by explaining each of the five distinct love languages. Then I will offer links to many different quizzes that will assist you in determining which of the five languages best describes your preferred method of expressing romantic affection.

Words of affirmation may be defined as any spoken or written words that positively reaffirm, support, elevate, and sympathize with another person.


  • I love you 
  • Thank you for the help
  • I am not going anywhere 
  • I will always be here for you
  • I’m proud of you

The time spent together is the kind that is considered to be of higher quality. It's all about communicating your love and devotion by giving someone your whole attention. When spending time with your significant other, you should put away any electronic devices, such as a mobile phone or tablet, and direct your attention only to them. And when you do it, it strikes their heart in a manner that is meaningful to them in a way that counts. They get the impression that you have purposefully set aside time for them, which makes them feel valued and unique in addition to important and loved.


  • Try a new activity together 
  • Talk without distractions 
  • Watch a tv show together 
  • Do chores and run errands together

When it comes to these individuals, actions speak louder than words. Acts of Service is a kind of communication that may be best summed up as doing something for your partner that you are certain they will appreciate, or that will relieve some of the pressure they are under.


  • Filling up gas for them 
  • Making them lunch 
  • Booking their appointments 
  • Helping them with small tasks 

When you or your spouse shows love via the exchange of gifts, it implies that you are treasured, that they are demonstrating their love for you through an item, or that you prefer to demonstrate your love through the exchange of presents. This object might be something little and inexpensive, such as a cup of coffee or a flower picked from the garden, or something more substantial, such as a handbag or a pair of shoes, depending on the person and their financial situation!

"I was thinking about you when I saw this, which is why I chose to acquire it, and you're constantly in my thoughts" is the message sent by giving or receiving gifts.


  • Getting them flowers
  • Getting something small they mentioned in the past 
  • Getting them coffee or lunch on their lunch/ study break 
  • Making them a handmade gift


If you consider physical contact your "love language," you value this kind of display of affection more than any other form of affection, including words of affirmation and material goods. Hugs, pats on the head for reassurance, holding hands, and other forms of physical contact may all be considered physical touch. 


  • Hugging often 
  • Giving kisses
  • Holding hands 
  • Being near your person/ touching when they are near

You are now one step closer to loving better since you know each love language and what it entails. The second step is to find out your love language by taking one or all of the quizzes listed below!

What's Your Love Language?

What Is My Love Language? A Simple 5-Minute Test

What’s your love language? Take our quiz and find out

By Sarah Haiyaat